Skip to content

Celebrating our achievements

Angela Brandt

During 2021 Angela Brandt was seconded to work with the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment on a major new report: Space invaders – A review of how we manage weeds that threaten native ecosystems. The report, which sets out whether Aotearoa New Zealand is doing the best job it can to manage the risks exotic plants pose to our native ecosystems, was released in November 2021. The report reviews the way in which central and regional government agencies tackle native ecosystem weeds under the Biosecurity Act 1993. Angela’s expertise and vast knowledge in plant invasion ecology was invaluable to the development of the report.

Yuxin Ma

Yuxin Ma, a soil scientist at Manaaki Whenua’s Palmerston North site, has been awarded the Dan Yaalon Young Scientist Medal by the International Union of Soil Sciences for her significant contribution to soil science. The award honours Dan Hardy Yaalon (1924–2014), a professor of soil science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, who contributed to some of the most fundamental issues of soils in space and time as well as the theory and history of soil science.

Nikki Harcourt, Phil Lyver and Shaun Awatere

Congratulations to Nikki Harcourt, Phil Lyver and Shaun Awatere who have been appointed to three newly established Kaihautū (Māori leadership) roles across our four research impact areas: land, soils & water; biodiversity & biosecurity; climate action; and people & environment. Creating these new positions is a major step forward that reflects our recent Tauākī Ngākau Titikaha ki Te Tiriti o Waitangi - our Statement of Commitment to Te Tiriti. Part of this commitment is the need for greater Māori co-design and co-development of our research agenda.