Landcare Research - Manaaki Whenua

Landcare-Research -Manaaki Whenua


Participating schools for 2016

Here are the schools that have joined us for 2016. Further down this page are expressions of interest for 2017-2018.

Students examining herbarium specimens
Curious Minds visit Lincoln

Students from five of the schools participating in 'War against Weeds' won trips to our Lincoln site, and visited the herbarium and harakeke collection.

Franz Josef School, Westland
Franz Josef Glacier & Fox Glacier Schools

We met both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier Schools on 18th October 2016.


Visited 11-12th October 2016

Hokitika Primary School
Hokitika Primary

Visited 14th September 2016

Kaniere School, Westland

Visited 19-20th October 2016

Mission Heights Junior College, Auckland
Mission Heights Junior College

Visited 9-10th November 2016

Mt Albert Grammar School, Auckland
Mt Albert Grammar

Visited 26-27th October 2016

TKKM School
TKKM O Kawakawa Mai Tawhiti

We visited TKKM o Kawakawa Mai Tawhiti from the 30th November to 2nd December.

Whataroa School, Westland
Whataroa School

Visited 12-13th September 2016


  • Mt Albert Grammer School, 26-27th October
  • Mission Heights Junior College, 9-10th November


  • TKKM o Kawakawa Mai Tawhiti, 30 November to 2nd December


  • Whataroa School, 12-13th September
  • Hokitika Primary School (3 classes), 14th September
  • Haast School, 11-12th October
  • Fox Glacier School, 18th October
  • Franz Josef Glacier School, 18th October
  • Kaniere School, 19-20th October

Expressions of interest for 2017-2018

The following are schools that have expressed their interest in this programme for 2017-2018.

Note that the number of schools that we can visit is highly dependent on the amount of funding we will have.


  • Chelsea Primary School
  • Dawson Primary School
  • Pukekohe East School
  • Sandspit Road School
  • Stonefields School
  • Sunnyhills Primary School
  • Takapuna Primary School
  • Takapuna Grammar School
  • Tamaki College
  • Wakaaranga School


  • Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School


  • Rawhitiroa School

Hawke's Bay:

  • Tikokino School

Kapiti coast:

  • Kapanui School
  • Ōtaki College
  • Raumati South School


  • Halswell School
  • Heathcote Valley Primary School
  • Lincoln Primary School
  • Lyttelton Primary School
  • Mount Hutt College
  • Queenspark School
  • Shirley Boys High School
  • South Brighton School


  • Ross School

Involve your school

If you would like your school to be involved for 2017-2018 or want more information about the Winning the War against Weeds project please contact:

Murray Dawson - Landcare Research
Phone: (03) 321 9645
Hugh Gourlay - Landcare Research
Phone: (03) 321 9683