Landcare Research - Manaaki Whenua

Landcare-Research -Manaaki Whenua



  • Andrea Byrom - Graeme Caughley Travelling Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Sciences
  • David Galloway – elected Foreign Member of The Royal Society of Arts and Sciences - Gothenburg, Sweden, in recognition of his lichenology contributions.
  • Ronny Groenteman – IOBC-Asia-Pacific Regional Section Young Scientist Award to attend the 3rd Combined Australian and New Zealand Entomological Societies Conference
  • Robert Holdaway – Travel grant to participate in workshop held at the University of Melbourne, Australia, and hosted by the ARC Center of Excellence for Environmental Decisions
  • Fraser Morgan – TransAntarctic Association Award to help with travel to Scientific Community for Antarctic Research's Open Science Conference in July 2012
  • Marie-Claude Lariviere – A new species of flat bug from New Caledonia was named after her by a world expert in recognition of her contributions to the taxonomy of Hemiptera
  • Diana Prada – Queen Elizabeth II technicians' study award to spend time working at the Wildlife Forensics Unit of Alberta in Edmonton (Canada)
  • Dan Tompkins – Marsden funding from the Royal Society of New Zealand for research on 'Superspreading and Supershedding - Integrating contrasting hypotheses for infectious disease transmission, emergence and persistence'
  • Trevor Webb – Norman Taylor Memorial Lecture awarded by NZ Soil Science Society for 2011
  • Janet Wilmshurst – Marsden funding from the Royal Society of New Zealand for research on solving the enigma of prehistoric Moriori settlement on Rekohu (Chatham Islands)


  • Landcare Research’s exhibition garden “Transitions”, designed by Colin Meurk, won a Gold Award and the Supreme Award for Horticultural Excellence at the 2012 Ellerslie International Flower Show in Christchurch. “Transitions” celebrated greening-the­city opportunities for post-quake Christchurch
  • The Central Otago Ecological Trust, chaired by Grant Norbury, won the Supreme Award at the Central Otago District Community Awards
  • The carboNZero team won a Green Ribbon award in the greenhouse gas reduction category of MfE’s annual environmental awards